Who Are Manchester United’s Record Premier League goalscorers

Manchester United are the most successful club in the history of the English game when it comes to domestic titles. The Red Devils have been crowned as English champions on 20 occasions while winning the title a record 13 times during the Premier League era.

The men from Manchester have had many prolific players who have helped fire them to the Premier League titles. However, who are United’s top ten goalscorers in the Premier League era?

Wayne Rooney (183 goals in 393 appearances)

The former England captain arrived at United from Everton for a fee of £ 20 million in the summer of 2004 at just 18. The forward established himself as a Red Devils legend scoring 183 top-flight goals and becoming the club’s all-time record goalscorer in all competitions.

During his time with the men from Manchester, the Croxteth-born star won the Premier League title on five occasions and the Champions League once in 2008.

Rooney’s goals helped the forward claim the PFA Players’ Player of the Year in season 2009–10, as well as the PFA Fans’ Player of the Year in the same season and also season 2005/06.

Ryan Giggs (109 goals in 632 appearances)

The Welshman enjoyed a playing career that nearly spanned two decades after making his United debut at 17. Giggs was part of the United squad in every single one of their 13 Premier League-title winning campaigns.

His individual accolades include winning the PFA Players’ Player of the Year in season 2008–09, as well as being named in the Premier League Team of the Year on six occasions in seasons 1992–93, 1997–98, 2000–01, 2001–02, 2006–07 and 2008–09.

The wing wizard is also second only to Gareth Barry in the most Premier League appearances by any player list.

Paul Scholes (107 goals in 499 appearances)

Like Giggs, Scholes came through the youth ranks at United and enjoyed a trophy-laden career for nearly two decades. The former England midfielder scored an impressive 107 top-flight goals from 1993 until he retired in 2013.

The midfielder helped United become English champions on 11 occasions during his career and European champions in seasons 1998–99 and 2007–08, among numerous triumphs.

Scholes’ individual awards include being named in the PFA Team of the Year in seasons 2002–03 and 2006–07.

Cristiano Ronaldo (107 goals in 236)

The Portuguese superstar made his name at Old Trafford after a 2003 switch from Sporting CP. Ronaldo spent six seasons at United in his first spell with the club before a second stint from 2021-2023.

During his first spell in Manchester, the forward won the Premier League Golden Boot in season 2007/08 and was crowned the Premier League Player of the Season twice in seasons 2006–07 and 2007–08.

On a team level, Ronaldo’s goals helped the Red Devils to three Premier League titles and the Champions League 2008.

Andrew Cole (93 goals in 195 appearances)

The former England international joined United from Newcastle for a fee of £ 6 million, plus winger Keith Gillespie. The deal caused protests on Tyneside, but Cole was a big hit with his new club as he fired home 93 Premier League goals in seven and half seasons.

Cole won the Premier League title five times during his United career, as well as the Champions League in 1999. His goals also saw the forward named in the Premier Team of the Year in 2000.

Ruud van Nistelrooy (95 goals in 150 appearances)

The Dutchman was a goal machine at Manchester United, having made a £ 18.5 million move from PSV Eindhoven in 2000. In his five Premier League seasons as a Red Devils player, Van Nistelrooy scored 95 league goals.

He won the Premier League title in 2003 with the Red Devils. On an individual basis, Van Nistelrooy also claimed the Golden Boot in his one title-winning campaign at Old Trafford. The same season saw the forward win the Premier League Player of the Year award.

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer (91 goals in 235 appearances)

Solskjaer arrived in Manchester as an unknown quantity from Molde in 1996. The Norwegian star became something of a cult hero. His 91 goals from 235 top-flight appearances are more impressive because he became known as a super sub rather than a regular start during his 11 seasons with United.

While with United, the forward picked up five Premier League title-winning medals and also a Champions League winners medal in 1999.

Marcus Rashford (76 goals in 239 appearances)

Like many of the players on this list, the England international came through the youth ranks at the club. Since making his debut in the 2015/16 season, Rashford has scored 76 times in the English top flight.

In season 2022/23, the forward enjoyed the joint most prolific Premier League campaign of his career, as he fired home 17 goals to help United qualify for the Champions League.

Eric Cantona (70 goals in 143 appearances)

The charismatic French forward became a hero at United, having made a controversial £ 1 million move from bitter rivals Leeds in November 1992. Cantona would go on to score 70 league goals in five seasons with the Red Devils.

United won the Premier League title four times with the Red Devils. Individually, Cantona won the PFA Players’ Player of the Year in season 1993–94 and the FWA Footballer of the Year in season 1995–96, among other accolades.

David Beckham (62 goals in 265 appearances)

Another product of the United youth ranks, winger Beckham, broke into the Red Devils team in the season 1994/95, where he remained a regular for a further seven years before a move to Spanish giants Real Madrid in 2003.

Beckham helped United win six Premier League titles and the Champions League in 1999. On an individual basis, the former England star claimed the PFA Young Player of the Year in season 1996–97. He also produced the most assists of any Premier League player in seasons 1997–98, 1999–2000 and 2000–01.